Therapists working with adoption in South Africa

Here is the list of therapists that I know of that work with adoptive families, adoptees and birth families.

If you are a therapist who works in this area If you would like to be added to this list or an adoptive family that recommends a particular therapist to be added to the list, please email me on jean.luyt@newlandstherapycentre.co.za or call ono 082 872 0192.

Please include the professional qualification of the therapist, a contact number and an email address.  Also add any further comments that might make it easier for clients to choose a suitable therapist.

Western Cape

Anje Crocker

Social Worker​

082 326 9444

anjecrocker@gmail.com

www.anjecrocker.co.za

Unit 8, 7 Bright Street, Somerset-Wes

She specialises in attachment therapy and care and contact work and assists her colleague who specialises in adoptions with the therapeutic work with their clients.

 

Naomi Botha

021 462 1508

naomi@cttherapyhub.co.za

49a Somerset Road, Green Point

Specialising in working with children on the autism spectrum and their parents

Jean Luyt

Clinical Psychologist

Jean.luyt@newlandstherapycentre.co.za

082 872 0192

20 Finsbury Ave, Newlands, Cape Town

FB Page: Cape Town Adoption Support

FB Group: Passionate about Adoption

With expertise in family therapy and group therapy

Helen Malgas

Counselling Psychologist

073 250 3416

helen@helenmalgas.co.za

Plumstead, Cape Town

 

Alexa Russell Matthews

alexa@philamoya.co.za

0835052719

Cape Town

 

Carol Sterling

Psychologist

0825531524

carol@7thdomain.com

Works part-time in 64 Main Road St James (Mondays and Fridays)

 

Kwa-Zulu Natal

Chris McLachlan

Clinical Psychologist

doinghopeweddings@gmail.com

082 774 3727

73 Villiers Drive, Clarendon

Pietermaritzburg, KZN

 

Gauteng

Janys Orelowitz

Attorney non practising

Social worker

Divorce mediator

janys@orelowitz.co.za

082 659 0471

FB page and website: Janys Orelowitz Adoption Social worker

Adoption and related work is her passion.  She just completed Forensic Investigation of sexual abuse training

 

Lauren Fitchet-Hall

Counseling psychologist

0823534308

lfitchet@gmail.com

Parktown North, Johannesburg.

 

Anna Schmidt-Ehmcke

Clinical Psychologist

061 2512 453

Parkwood, Johannesburg

 

Leigh Joy Mansel-Pleydell

leigh@justlove.co.za

079 525  8991

Adult adoptee, works with adults with problems with addiction.  Can work via video call.

Johannesburg